Mattock reached the Senior Championship Final in 2001 only to go down to our old adversaries, Newtown Blues.  2002 will go down in Mattock’s history as the greatest year in the club’s existence when the blue riband of Louth Football was at last won by beating St. Brides in the Senior Championship Final in Ardee by 2-9 to 1-9. Captain, Donal Geraghty, received the Joe Ward Cup from Co. Chairman, Paddy McMahon.  The Manager of the team, Brendan Reilly, selector Willie Englishby & Coach, Des Lane, were the men in charge on this great day. The team went on to reach the AIB Leinster Senior Football Final, going under to Meath’s Dunshaughlin in the Final in Navan.  The team also reached the ACC Cup & Cardinal O’Donnell Cup finals in 2002.

The Senior team did the club proud by winning the inaugural Leinster Senior Club League, beating St. Mary’s, Saggart, of Dublin in the 2005 Final on a score line of 0-12 to 1-7. A second Senior Football Championship was annexed on Sunday, 2nd October 2005, at the Gaelic Grounds, Drogheda, when in a thrilling finish the team beat our old rivals Newtown Blues 1-12 to 2-6. Captain Gerry Hanratty was presented with the Joe Ward Cup by County Chairman, Paddy Oliver. The team followed this up by winning the 2005 Division 1B Senior League on Sunday, 23rd October.  Paddy Clarke as Manager and Brendan Reilly as selector, assisted by Damien Reid & Willie Englishby are the men who guided the club to this magnificent achievement.

A further Senior Final appearance followed in 2008 when Newtown Blues got revenge for the 2005 final defeat by beating us by 3 points in the Final.

However Mattock were back in the Senior Final in 2009, recording a ten point win over old rivals Cooley Kickhams, 3-12 to 0-11, to claim our third Senior title of the decade.
The team also won the Paddy Sheelan Cup beating Newtown Blues in a replay.

We will be adding to this area of the website so any photos/news archives etc please email secretary.mattockrangers.louth@gaa.ie or contact Earnan Roche