Louth U17 – Damien Reid Cup Winners

by admin on January 29, 2013

Louth are the first holders of the Damien Reid Cup for the Under 17 Inter County Tournament and they have beaten great rivals Meath in the final having accounted for Armagh and Meath in the group games.

Louth 1 – 13

Meath 2 – 4

This was a good game of football between the Under 17’s of Louth and Meath in this inaugural Damien Reid Inter County tournament. Louth were deserved winners having dictated the play for the greater part of the game, Meath were strong at the start and finish of each half but they were well held by the Louth defence for long periods including fifteen minutes in the second half when Louth scored seven unanswered points to put the result beyond doubt.

James Stewart got his side on the scoreboard after three minutes but they were rocked back on their heels by a Meath goal a minute later when Meath’s best forward Conor O’Brien worked the ball to Donncha Fitzpatrick who cut in along the end line and his parried shot fell to Conor Rooney who had an easy task.

Colm Giggins got a point to help Louth recover from this lapse, the defence was tight for the rest of the half and able to cope with the Meath attacks, Thomas McCann and Colm Giggins had a slight mid field edge at this stage and the Louth forwards were getting a good supply of ball but making poor use of it. This was down to some good defending by Meath who forced them into shooting two wides and dropping three balls into the keeper’s hands. Conor Rooney put Meath ahead for the second time with a fine point, Stephen Kilcoyne had a chnace of a goal before Ciaran Byrne settled Louth’s nerves with a point from a free. The best Louth move of the half came on twenty six minutes when Thomas McCann, James Stewart and Ciaran Byrne combined to put Stephen Kilcoyne in on goal, he was hauled down and Robert Quigley scored from the penalty spot. Conor O’Brien and stephen Kilcoyne from a free left the half time score at 1 – 5 to 1 – 2 for Louth at the end of a half that saw good football played by both sides.

Meath enjoyed the better start to the second half and Louth conceded a number of frees one of which was converted by Fiachra Ward in the second minute. They had a good ten minute spell but crucially the Louth defence stood firm and didn’t concede more scores. Louth were on top for the next fifteen minutes and with seven points coming without reply and stretching the lead to nine points and with five minutes to go they had a hand on the trophy.

Colm Giggins started this scoring spree with a cracking point from play, a Ciaran Byrne free, Robert Quigley and Stephen Kilcoyne with two each from play and another Ciaran free made it seven.

Meath in customary fashion came with a storming finish and Dale Larkin got their second goal after more good work by Conor O’Brien. Louth responded positively and found a little more in the tank and they mounted two more attacks which resulted in wides. Conor O’Brien and Stephen Kilcoyne swapped points in the final minutes and the game finished with Louth six points in front.

Darren McMahon at centre half back was chosen as man of the match, Kieran Lenaghan, Darren Marks, Conor McMenamin, Andrew English and Sean Crosbie completed a good defence on the night and Thomas McCann and Colm Giggins can be pleased with their contribution at mid field. The full forward line scored 1 – 10 which is a good tally, the experienced Ciaran Byrne accounted for three points from frees and his incisive off loading was a huge advantage to Robert Quigley and Stephen Kilcoyne. James Stewart had a good game on the forty and his flankers Ciaran Ward and Terry Donegan linked up well in a good attack.

Sean Reid presented the man of the match award to Darren McMahon and Sally Reid presented the trophy to Darren as Louth captain.

Mattock Rangers G.F.C. proposed this tournament in memory of Damien Reid and Terry Donegan chairman of the club thanked Leinster Council for authorising the tournament and Louth GAA for facilitating it.

Louth; Luke Haggins, Oliver Plunketts; Conor McMenamin, Dk Young Ire; Kie ran Leneghan, N Fionnbarra; Andrew English, N Mochta; Seab Crosbie, St Kevins; Darren McMahon, N Mochta; Darren Marks, Cooley K; Thomas McCann, St Patrick’s; Colm Giggins, Stabannon P; Ciaran Ward, Wolfe Tones; James Stewart, Dk Gaels; Terry Donegan, Mattock Rangers; Stephen Kilcoyne, Sean O’Mahony’s; Robert Quigley, O’Connells; Ciaran Byrne, N Mochta.

Substitutes; Conall Cooeney for s Crosbie and Conor Grogan for T Donegan ( both 50 mins).

Cathal Costelloe, N Martin; Liam O’Leary, St Joseph’s; Karl McDonnell, St Fechins; Gideon Lugoye, W Tones; Gary Keogh O Plunketts; Michael Kane, Cooley K; Mark Cunningham, Mattock; James Doherty St, Mochtas ,Michael Martin, Westerns; Darren Breen, St Brides;

Meath; Jack Hannigan, Donaghmore/Ashbourne; Conor Carton, D more/Ashbourne; Brian Power, Rathoath; Stephen O’Brien, Nobber; Paul Donnellan, Batterstown; Shane McEntee, Dunboyne; James Heaney, Simonstown; Fiachra Ward, W Tones; Harry Rooney, Screen; Conor O’Brien, Screen; Niall Carolan, Dunboyne; Aidan Hughes, D more/Ashbourne; Donncha Fitzpatrick, Gael Colmcille; Conor Rooney, Rathoath; Tony Smith, St Cuthberth’s.

Substitutes; Caoimhin Griffen, Clan na Gael; Dale Larkin, Nobber.

Referee; David Loughran, St Patrick’s.

Previous post:

Next post: